According to a recent study, the more time people use the Internet, the less time they spend with real human beings. Some people say that instead of seeing the Internet as a way of opening up new communication possibilities world- wide, we should be concerned about the effect this is having on social interaction.

How far do you agree with this opinion?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Write at least 250 words.

A recent research has revealed that, considerable time is spent on the internet by people, the less time they spend with real human beings. Some believe that instead of perceiving the internet as a way of opening up new communication possibilities worldwide, we should be concerned about the effect is having social interaction.

To begin with, we cannot deny that the internet has opened up new communication possibilities world-wide. Nowadays, it possible for global businesses to conduct a rendezvous online. This can be done through video conferencing which only requires a good internet network. As a result, this saves large corporate businesses an exorbitant cost involved purchasing flight tickets for attending such meetings. Furthermore, “whatsapp” has made it possible for friends and families to call and text one another as fast as possible over long distances. Consequently, communication becomes reliable.

In addition, it is possible to learn about different cultures by be-Friend people of different norms and values around the globe. Facebook offers such an opportunity .That being pointed out, people learn to appreciate different races. This clarifies the importance of the internet in opening up new communication possibilities.

In contrary, the internet does not offer an avenue to develop social interaction skills. For instance people spend much time on social networks indoors. Following such habit, they develop a difficulty in forming relationships with others. This culminates in one not having friends to confide to during times of need like loss of a loved one maybe.

Moreover, one may miss out in community building activities as a result of lack of social interaction skills. For example, they may have a fear in approaching people, hence helping out at a neighbor `s funeral may be difficult because of lack of socialization techniques. Consequently, neighbors will do the same in case when you are experiencing a familiar situation. This elucidates the negative impact of the internet towards socialization.

In conclusion, it is worth noting that the internet does creates new communication possibilities internationally. Nevertheless, I believe that should it be used equally with social interaction the benefits will be more.