Air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise, pollution, and airport construction. One reason for this is the growth in low-cost passenger flights, often to holiday destinations.

Some people say that government should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it more heavily.

Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there is a phenomenon that governments impose heavy taxes on airline industry in order to stop its detrimental effects on the environment. While there is a strong case for this, others disapprove. From my perspective, I totally support the latter view as this policy would exert the following drawbacks.

There is no denying that increasing tax on airline industry would be an ineffecient strategy to reduce its environmental impacts. Take car industry as an example. Despite higher tax rates, there are now even a growing number of travelling cars, worsening the air quality. Another negative aspect of this policy would be that this type of tax may exert social inequality among citizens from different financial backgrounds. This tax will equally apply to all of us, leaving a considerable financial burden on the middle class while the rich would remain unaffected.

Even worse, the higher airline tax will lead to the fact that tourism industry would be seriously weakened. As a result of more costly airtickets, a significant drop in the number of passengers will be witnessed. To illustrate, Austria used to be one of the world’s favourite destinations for spring vacations. However, since an increasing aviation tax policy was passed, this country has experienced negative influences on its tourism turnover, slowing down economic development of the whole country.

In conclusion, although it might be true that raising tax on aviation industry can be an effective solution to alleviate environmental degradation, I am more inclined to the view that the governments should not tax air industry more heavily to prevent some inevitable disadvantages.