Airline Companies in many countries have reduced the cost of tickets. Discuss whether this is positive or negative developments. Give some examples based on your own experience.

Air travel nowadays very cheaper as compared to the past. In olden days only the wealthy people and business man were able to afford this mode of transport. Introduction privatization in the airline industry changes the entire scenario, companies are competing with each other to dominate in the market. For that they are doing whatever they can to attract more passengers to their carrier, in form of reduced ticket prices and cheaper business class rates and so on. I firmly believe it is a positive movement.

Firstly, cheaper rates allows more people to utilize air transport for their daily needs. So that people can reach their destinations more easily and comfortably. For instance, for traveling a 500 kilometer distance, if we use road or rail transport its going to take almost 5 - 6 hours to reach the destination depending on the condition. whereas, if we use flights, we can reach the same point within 1 or 2 hours. Thats the kind of difference air travel makes in people's daily life. Furthermore, importers and exporters can utilise this cheaper rate to the easy movement of their goods and gain some profit out of it. also consumers will get imported items cheaply as a result of this cost reduction.

Secondly, tourism is the another which will be benefited from this scenario. For international tourists, air travel fare is their basic preference when they select a destination, because usually that will cost almost 20-25 percentage of their total tour cost. If a country has cheaper airline network that will definitely attract tourists and also foreign money to the host country. Like in India, currently there are number of aircraft companies are operating both in international and domestic sector. Majority of them budget flights offering tickets and other benefits in cheaper rate. As a result recent studied in Indian tourism industry revealed that many of the European travelers prefer India as there hot destination mainly because of this.

On the flip side of the coin, there are some negative effects also. Aviation fuel is one of the major air pollutant, so frequent flights due to the increasing popularity makes things even worse. Moreover, this unhealthy co petition over ticket pricing eventually effect aircraft companies in the long run and some times even results in closure of their services.

To recapitulate, cheaper air ticket rates are definitely a positive development in terms country's transportation facilities even though there are some negative effects also. But the advantages clearly outweighs the disadvantages.