The amount of sport shown on T.V every week has increased significantly and this is having impact on live sports events. Do you think the benefits of having more televised sport are greater than the disadvantages?

It is true that since the beginning of the last century, the numbers of sport events which are being broadcasted have risen dramatically, and it is expected to increase even more. Some claim that this have negative consequences regarding live events. However, in my view, the advantages gained from compelling sport matches on T.V are far more than disadvantages.

To start with the benefits, firstly, T.V coverage enable millions of peoples throughout the world to attend international events without the need for far- distance traveling with it is all expensive costs of visas, aero plane tickets, hostels reservation, entrance tickets and costs of living . Secondly, greater more number of people can watch the event , and thus the team can may gain global support from overseas fans. Thirdly, watching matches for international strong teams of certain sport would positively affect the local teams in the countries where these sport teams are less developed.

Regarding drawbacks, one of disadvantages is that , fewer people nowadays attend live matches , and thence less financial return to the sponsor clubs. This certainly would affect negatively the budget allocated for players training and salaries. Moreover, as the numbers of fan decrease ,the psychological support given through their cheering and chanting would also lessen. In addition to that , the economic growth experienced by the hosting countries during the periods of international events , would become insignificant.

To sum up, broadcasting of sport on T.V undoubtedly have it is impact on live sport events . Nevertheless, in my opinion it has far more pros than cons , especially for individuals and for sport development.