Around the world, children learn English as a second language at school. However, in some places, they also learn at kindergarten (pre-school care, when children are aged two to five).

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of learning English at kindergarten.

Provide reasons for your answer. Include relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

English is a major language being used worldwide. Because of this, most of the children learn this language at school. While ,in some countries, kids are compelled to start learning English from kindergarten. In the following paragraphs, I will explain the merits and demerits of learning English from a very young age.

There are plethora of advantages to learn English since childhood. Firstly, if toddler learn English he becomes familiar with the words and he does not face too much trouble in making sentences . Also, he does not face any language difficulty in young age. As there are lots of competition in the world so learning from childhood really helps the child to compete with the world. It also increases the confidence of child .

However, there are some drawbacks too. Learning language from a small age can overburden child . In the preschool, child has lot of things to learn, so providing extra language to learn is not healthy for his mental health . As a result, child become unable to learn his native languages, consequently cannot speak properly and creates a sense of shame when others make fun of him. Furthermore, It creates a lot of confusion in his mind and somehow affect his intellectual ability.

To conclude, learning second language at preschool has both pros such as early familiarization with the language , boostup the confidencelevel when taking to international students and cons like low performance in class due to overburden of extra language.