Art classes, such as painting and drawing, are as important for children's development as other subjects, so it should be compulsory in high school. Do you agree or disagree?

I agree that art-related subjects are crucial for the development of children. However, this does not mean that these courses should be added into the curriculum of high school as compulsory subjects as will now be explained.

There is no doubt that attending art classes not only develop children’s minds but also hone their soft skills such as observation skill and hand-eye coordination. For example, if you want to sketch the portrait of somebody, it is crucial to notice even the littlist thing in their body or else your work of art might become a piece of trash. Art education also plays a vital role in boosting creativity. For example, drawing and painting a picture allows youngsters to let their imagination run wild since they are encouraged to express their idea in an unique and genuine way.

Although art subjects make an equal contribution to the growth of a child, I believe that they should be made optional rather than compulsory. The primary reason is that art classes are often considered as a waste of time and resources, espeacilly for those who do not have a penchant for art and can hardly produce a work of art. Forcing them to take part in these classes merely results in an unnecessary pressure on learners. Furthermore, not every student will grow up to become a visual artist, or a musician so they have the right to choose which subject might provide direct benefit for them in the long run. For example, if a student have a passion for becoming a plumber, he should lay emphasis on job training rather than liberal art subjects since he can apply this sort of knowledge in their future career.

In conclusion, I do not believe that high school students should be required to attend art classes although they are as important as other core subjects for the development of children.