The best way for governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is to provide free public transport in 24 hours per day, and seven days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, we are witnessing an increasingly ubiquitous number of traffic jams, which causes huge difficulty to commuters. Some people hold the opinion that providing free public transport all day is superior to many other solutions. Others, however, think quite differently that it is extremely costly. To be frank, offering free public transport is not the best way and the drawbacks far outweigh its benefits.

First of all, it is an indisputable fact that providing free public transport in 24 hours per day may leave a burden on the national budget. According to the majority of reports, traffic congestion mainly occurs during the rush hours, so it is pointless to providing public transport all the time. Moreover, providing free public transport in the long term may be unachievable due to its tremendous cost. Therefore, I would prefer that this amount of money was invested on enhancing road facilities.

Even more importantly, traffic jams is not only attributed to the vast amount of private transport but also road systems. There is no denying that people always prioritize private cars in case of emergency and essence no matter how attractive the public transport is. Moreover, providing free public transport alone only contributes to cut down the volume of traffic to some extent. In fact, many big cities like Ha Noi still suffer from traffic jams in narrow roads with obsolete infrastructure in spite of the rise in availability of public transport. Therefore, I strongly believe that to address the root of the issue, road needs to be widened and traffic lights and signs should be made more state-of-the-art.

To conclude, provide free public transport all the day seems reasonable that could transform people's lives, but not without negative impacts. On the other hand, I believe that more investments on road systems should be enforced to make commuting more comfortable and time-saving.