The best way for governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is providing free public transport in 24 hours per day, and seven days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Traffic jam is a hard-solving problem that many metropolises around the world are facing. It is believed that a free public transport system all the day is the best solution to handle this problem, but I totally disagree with this statement.

The feasibility of such a free system should be taken into careful consideration before it is adopted. It is clear that the high costs involved in buying vehicles such as buses and trains, constructing rails and hiring drivers are deducted from the government’s budget. However, the effectiveness of this policy might not be guaranteed due to several drawbacks of public transportation. Compared to private transport, public one is so time-consuming and crowded that commuters seem to experience more discomfort and inconvenience. The increasing crime rates related to pickpockets and sexual harassment on public transport are also serious threats which make this option less preferred. Consequently, it would be extravagant if the government invest a large amount of money into this free system without making the most of it.

Meanwhile, this method may not be the best choice in spite of contributing to the deduction in traffic congestion. In addition to private transport, the low-quality infrastructure such as out-of-date bridges and construction sites on narrow roads in fact make a significant contribution to traffic jam. For instance, bridges and roads are under construction in Vietnam have a huge impact on the flow of traffic. These incomplete facilities which act as obstacles for commuters are in need of being upgraded to alleviate traffic jam.

In conclusion, free public transport is not the most predominant step to resolve the recent traffic issues because of its feasibility. It seems more necessary for the government to figure out other practical options to control these matters.