The best way for governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is providing free public transport in 24 hours per day, and seven days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There have been an increasing number of private vechiles in all around the world, contributing to problem of traffic congestion. Although some support the idea that governments should spend national budget to provide free public transport that available anytime, this not a best way to address the problem.

The first reason is that demand for having private vechiles is till growing, even public transport is free. First, since public transportation systems in many countries, especially undeveloped ones are not reliable, citizens in those countries are more likely to choose private vechiles, which saving them a large amount of effort. For example, in order to avoiding the risk of experiencing either train systems run out of service suddenly or buses come late, they decide to drive on their own, which ensures their punctruality. Second, the public transport, such as buses and trains in some places are not designed conveniently for commuters. In fact, since some bus stops are too far away from their houses, taking them a great amount of time to get there, they would have no choice but to drive, even if they dont want to.

It is also not ineffecient to provide mass transit freely at any time. First, as traffic jam usually takes place in rush hour period, mass transit only be the effective during this period by reducing the number of cars on road. Therefore, having countinuous public transit service is unneccessary. In addition, there would be waste of both money and resouces if this measure comes into play. In fact, if public transit was available 24/7, money and resources, such as engery and staff would be spent in order to keep the system running continously, even when there is an only one passenger is using.

In conclusion, provding public transport freely at any time is not a pratical solution for traffic congestion. Goverment should find other appoarches to address the this