The best way to reduce youth crime is to educate their parents with parental skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is recommended that juvenile delinquency would be mitigated when their parents are provided with parental skills. While I consent to its implication with an improvement, I opine that a number of more suitable solutions can be proposed.

On the one hand, parental skills are believed to be useful in reducing youth criminals because of several reasons. Firstly, embarking parenthood is an onerous responsibility that not many people have sufficient experience, leading to an excessive load of challenges when they bring up their offspring. Therefore, being equipped with vital skills, they would be able to live tackle these dilemmas and, as a result, can remove generation gap, live in a harmony with their children, as well as reduce the possibility of their rebellious or antisocial behaviors, which is the major contributing factor to juvenile delinquency. Secondly, there has been a consensus that parental involvement profoundly influences the shape of a child’s personality. Thus, if they were trained to be dignified parents with ideal patterns of behaviors, children would take advantage by being instilled a whole array of positive traits, which makes them less likely to turn to crimes.

On the other hand, I believe that the above solution can be outperformed by other feasible measures. Indeed, as an organ responsible for assuring the domestic tranquility, the government must throw its weight behind this mission by maintaining the policy of zero tolerance. Not only does this make juvenile delinquents see the error of their ways but also act as a deterrent for youngsters from committing a crime. Another policy is integrating law lessons into schools curricula. Particularly, if children were reminded that any offences will be strictly treated by the full weight of the law, the necessity of adhering to them would dig deep into their mind, and deter them from illegal behaviors.

In brief, it seems to me that while equipping parents with essential skills is effective, the best efforts to tackle juvenile crimes must be made by governments and schools.