The best way to solve world's environmental problem is to increase the cost of fuel. Do you agree or disagree and give your own opinion ?

In recent years, the debate of whether or not augmenting the cost of fuel is the perfect solution to tackle environment-related problems has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although this suggestion appears plausible, there are not without other feasible ways to handle environmental issues.

On the one hand, there are a variety of compelling reasons to explain why governments should increase the cost of fuel. First, by imposing more taxes on fossil fuel cost, governments are able to galvanize their citizens to utilize public transportation. In fact, as people would find it more unaffordable to buy fuel, they have no choice but switching to harnessing the public transit system such as buses, subways, and bicycles, leading to the fact that much less exhaust fumes would be released into the air. Second, companies and factories are the first in line to use alternative energy such as solar, wind and tides due to the rise in fuel cost. This means that factories are inclined to resort to renewable energy in the sense that they would not want to increase the price of their products, lowering the amount of gas emission from factories at bay, and thus slowing down global warming.

On the other hand, other workable approaches should be highly taken into consideration besides the mentioned solution. One of the measures is that governments could lauch several campaigns about the environment to raise citizens' awareness. For example, campaigns could emphasize the detrimental effects of plastic bags and encourage people to use biodegradable products such as farbic bags or bamboo-made straws. In addition, the governments could enact rigid sanctions such as imprisoning for years or money fines on those plants emitting excessive contaminated gas. This means that penalties would act as a deterrent to those plants breaking the laws.

In conclusion, increasing the fuel cost should not be considered as the ultimate solution. By applying other measures such as galvanizing people to consume environmentally-friendly products and imposing stringent laws, the governments could manage this thorny problem at a minimum level.