The best way to solve world's environmental problem is increase the cost of fuel. Do you agree or disagree and give your own opinion.

In recent years, there is a phenomenon that governments impose heavier taxes on petrol in order to stop its detrimental effects on the environment. The issue of whether this approach is effective enough to prevent environmental degradation remains a source of controversy. While there is a strong case for this, I personally believe that some other measures should be given equal consideration.

It is undeniable that increasing tax on fuel industry would be an ineffecient strategy reducing its environmental impacts. In other words, people should acknowledge the fact that the demand for petrol is generally inelastic, at least in the short run. As the consumption of petrol is more likely not to be vary significantly according to the fluctuation of petrol price due to city dwellers’ excessive reliance and obsession on fossil fuel-based cars, die effort to reduce reduce greenhouse gases emission by curbing cars cannot achieve any immediate outcome unless with sufficient time. For example, despite higher tax rates, there are now even an growing number of private cars, leaving carbon footprint worsening the air quality.

On the other hand, I would advocate with those who contend that others method would be much more effective to deal with the detrimental impacts it may exert than the aforementioned approach. Instead, people should turn to fuel-efficient cars or reduce non-essential trips, both resulting in the drop in petrol usage. This can be done if car manufacturers enlarge research and development investment in producing hybrid cars or cars powered by renewable clean energy sources, a cure-all for car emission problems. Another rationale is that when it comes to reducing greenhouse gas emissions, people should take different methods simultaneously, instead of relying on any single method only.

In conclusion, although it might be true that raising tax on fuel can be an effective solution to alleviate environmental degradation, I am more inclined to the view that governments should take into account others measures to tackle with this pressing issue.