Biotechnology companies all over the world are developing different types of genetically modified (GM) crops. However, not enough is known about the effects of these crops on our health and on environment. Inferring with nature in this way should be prohibited. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Biotechnology has two sides of influences onto crops (genetically modified ones), which can be able to maintain one’s healthy diet program by absorbing various nutritional values from it, whereas this side effect can be fatal to the health. In my perspective, while I understand the fatal potential risk for consuming GM crops, the benefits from such crops cannot be ignored. Therefore, the wise consumption should be recommended.

To begin with, the richness in its substances, which enhanced by chemical aids, can be able to maintain the healthy diet programs. With the enhancement nutritional values within the GM foods, which contains various nutritional values such as vitamin, proteins, omega 3, calcium, potassium etc, can provide the maximized value for fewer intakes. Therefore, people can take a lesser amount of food for the higher nutrition values.

In addition, the GM produces future opportunities to grow. The use of biotechnology makes the foods to be available throughout the year by efficient land usage, regardless with the unsustainable climates; such as cyclone, drought and other weather issues due to the global warming. Therefore, people can enjoy from constant healthy diet all year round by foods being available during unconventional growing seasons.

In contrast, the GM crops which influence on human’s health are leading to fatal maladies because inclusive of chemical substances within, thus some experts claim that such crops should be banned. The accumulation of such unknown chemical substances within one’s body is unknown but the past studies have discovered that it led to several chronic, respiratory and cell destruction. For example, the National Centre for Health Statistics stated that, the percentage of Americans with chronic illness jumped from 7% to 13% in just 9 years during the genetically modified crops being popular. Also, food allergies in children rose from 2.4% to 5.1% from 1997 to 2011. From this research, we can conclude that the genetically modified crops can directly effect on human’s health.

In conclusion, GM crops have several benefits related to growing and the nutritional value despite the critical health issues. Therefore, the amount of intake of GM crops should be monitored and watched closely to prevent any other potential health risks.