Children and teenagers are committing more crimes. Why is the case? How should children be punished?

Recently, there are more incidents of crimes committed by minors. I will give some possible reasons for this issue and propose some suggestions to deal with these juvenile lawbreakers.

The major reason for the increasing number of young criminal offenders may be the changing social structure in the current society. To be more specific, the younger generations are more likely to live in families where both parents need to work full-time in order to support the family financially. As a result, the children from these backgrounds tend to have less parental control, or even totally neglected by their caregivers, thus making it easier for them to go astray. Another plausible reason may include the exposure to violence on the mass media, which is making breaking law a “fashionable” behavior. The primary incentive for them to conduct their criminal acts is to follow the latest trend.

With regard to the punishments to the delinquent acts done by teenagers, I think putting them into correctional institutions and community services are the better options. The motive for giving this advice is that the youngsters can have the opportunity to rehabilitate by taking moral and law lessons provided by the institutions. Once they are taught and made aware of the consequences of breaking the laws, the possibility of recommitting a crime will be lowered. By doing community service, these children will have the chance to reform and repay the society as well.

In conclusion, teenagers’ anti-social behaviors can be reduced if the parents and the society are giving more care and proper guidance.