Children are generally more successful in foreign language studies than adults. Thus, it is better to learn languages in childhood.

Do you agree or disagree?

The issue of choosing the most optimal period for learning foreign languages has always aroused heated debates. Some people believe that the youngsters are more effective in this activity rather than the people of older ages. I completely disagree to the above mentioned point of view due to the reasons hereinafter.

First of all, I personally believe that during the life the abilities to capture new information does not worsen but even enhances. Therefore, an adult having recieved an experience of studying in school and university understands the better ways of memorizing information that suits to their perception. A person who has already passed a number of exams not only in foreign languages has already gained an ability to memorize different words faster and use lecsics more efficiently. For example, Maria Verner, a polyglot knowing 7 languages, confirms that due to her age of 30 she successfully has learnt Italian and Czech at courses. Thus, more mature students perceive knowledges easier than youngsters who hasn’t graduated from any educational facility.

Secondly, in my opinion, as elder people poses experience of communication with foreigners during their lifetime they study harder understanding all the pluses of the ability of international communication. In other words, they are happy with the access to the cultural heritage of other nations and the chance to exchange the ideas with people from other countries. So that they don’t skip classes on purpose and try to take part in language clubs and lectures to the fullest. For instance, according to the research implemented by the Financial Times, a student at the age of 30-50 is more common to see at the Spanish courses of the University of Maria Teresa. Hence, the understanding of enormous possibilities that the usage of languages provides leads to better results in studying of elders rather than the youngsters not knowing all the potencial.

To sum up I’d like to stress that not the consciousness of personal approach to studying and the lifelong aquantences of adults contribute to the great studying of languages. That’s why to believe in prejudices that a person can start learning the language only in childhood is completely mistakable.