Children find it difficult to concentrate on or pay attention to their studies in school. What are the reasons? How can we solve this problem?

Many children, especially young students, have trouble paying attention in class at some point in their academic career. When this happens, it leaves parents wondering why their child cannot focus. This essay discusses the main reasons why this phenomenon occurs, and it also suggests solutions to each case.

The decrease of attention and concentration of children during their classes can be accounted for two main reasons. Firstly, the lack of proper sleep and nutrition is a crucial factor that when it is achieved, it helps children to be more focused. If a child is not getting the recommended 8-10 hours of sleep each night, he or she will not have the energy needed to concentrate in class. Skipping breakfast is another big cause of lack of focus in class, while if children are heading to class hungry, they will be more apt to be distracted than learning-ready. Secondly, children can be distracted by external stimuli, since a classroom can be a place full of distractions, from chatty classmates to a cluttered workstation. According to surveys, some children have a harder time than others filtering out these distractions making paying attention to the teacher more challenging.

Having found the causes of children’s focus issues, it is easier to overcome them. One solution could be for parents to handle with physical needs of their children, like hunger and fatigue. They should prepare healthy meals and snacks for their children and establish a regular time for bedtime every night. Another possible solution could be for teachers to keep classroom’s distractions to a minimum level. Although socialization is an important step to children’s maturity, it should not take place during academic sessions. For example, a typical way to keep discussions away from classes is for teachers to rearrange the seats.

In conclusion, school distractions are a problem caused by a plethora of reasons, mainly because of lack of physical needs and of external factors. However, both parents and teachers can tackle the issue properly with immediate actions