Children today spend more time watching television than they did in the past. Describe some advantages and disadvantages of television for children.

Today’s youngsters were glued into their seats watching their favorite programs shown on television in contrast to the children before. To some people, they think that it is advantageous to have prolong exposure with regards to viewership to these young minds. However, to others it is more disadvantageous.

On the one hand, televiewing have a huge positive impact to young televiewers in terms of mental process. Kids have a nature of being inquisitive. Watching educational shows such as Sesame Street, Nickelodeons, Discovery Channel, and National Geographic that promotes learning, catches the interest or attention of the kids resulting to enhance cognitive ability of the child such as perception, memory, judgment and reasoning. Another benefit of watching tv shows is it makes children stay at home making them safe. By children staying at home means parents feel at ease knowing their children are safe and not outside the streets playing. When children plays on the street like biking, skating or even just running around and chasing their playmates, they are prone to accidents such as tripping over and breaking their bones or they have been hit by an automobile.

On the other hand, there are also disadvantages of prolong viewership of minors on the black screen. Minors may have short attention span and leaving a young boy or girl in front of the tv without adult supervision may cause them to switch channels that is not conducive to their young mind. Seeing movies that promote violence such as action pictures pertaining to war or to combat an opponent may give a wrong impression for these preteens which could result to projecting inappropriate behaviors like bullying. Moreover, there are also unpleasant effects affecting health condition caused by excessive tuning in to broadcast programs. Eye constraint is one of the negative effect when the sense of sight is not rested. Too much concentrating by looking closely and focusing on the pictures shown in the lcd in long periods of time may cause blurred vision accompanied by headache. In addition, too much exposure by just sitting and staring in front of the tv the whole time is one example of sedentary lifestyle which makes young boys and young girls prone to being lazy and inactive resulting to decrease circulation of blood that makes them susceptible to sickness.

It is true that there are many positive concepts of television to young televiewers: to give entertainment, relaxation, and information. However, too much exposure of it may contribute to unhealthy and unpleasant result and therefore in my opinion, supervision from the parents or adults is highly recommended to prevent unnecessary results. In addition, parents or adults should also encourage their children to engage in activities where learning and fun co-exist as to balance everything.