Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

In recent years, with the rapid development of technology and telecommunication, people receive information from marketing propaganda in numerous forms. I believe that in modern life, there is an intimate relationship between advertisement and people, the advertisement has a profound impact on the public and it requires authority and media need to have relevant measures to protect consumers from negative influences.

Admittedly, being the target audience, shoppers are directly affected by advertising campaigns. Firstly, buyers frequently find themselves purchasing tawdry goods, deceived by their portrayal in commercials. In order to outcompete rivals and create brand awareness, companies tend to exaggerate the true quality of their products. As a result, unwary consumers who are swayed by glamorous advertisements could end up impulsively buying items that later disappoint them. Secondly, regardless of their form, advertisements might encourage people to adopt harmful habits. Adolescents, for example, may spend too much time on video games if over-exposed to commercials promoting those products and celebrity endorsement.

Therefore, the strict measure should be taken to defend buyers from the adverse effect of commercials. It is most necessary for consumer protection agencies to be established and government must impose regulations on the advertising industry. Moreover, legal authorities have to give the solution to fine heavily behavior lacking personality. The mass media take account for reducing the negative influence of advertising. The consumer could choose the most suitable and reliable goods with the trust of the provider if companies show advertisement selectively.

In conclusion, I would argue that the negative effects commercial should be banned in the future and that people can only be protected from harms with interference from government and social media.