Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

In recent years, there has been a dramatic growing tendency of commercial advertising. From my perspective, I believe that advertisements have a profound impact on the public so governments and mass media should be involved in protecting consumers.

To begin with, there are a variety of reasons why the target audiences are directly affected by advertising campaigns. First of all, shoppers deceived by commercial advertisements eventually purchase tawdry goods. In order to raise brand awareness and to compete with rivals, some businesses tend to exaggerate and distort the fact about their products. Consequently, customers who are swayed by advertisements could impulsively buy items that later disappoint them. Secondly, advertisements might encourage people to adopt bad habits. Teenagers, for example, may spend more time on playing video games if those products are promoted too often or using celebrity endorsement.

Therefore, strict steps must be taken in order to defend consumers from negative sides of commercial advertising. Firstly, governments should focus their attention to impose regulation on advertising industry by establishing protection consumer institutions and laws to protect the people. Under the control, companies would be responsible for publicising the advertisements through online advertising or commercial advertisements on prime time television. The mass media also play a vital role in reducing the disadvantages caused by advertising. If huge social media platform such as Facebook or YouTube, and also some reputable newspaper or magazines advert selectively, buyers can choose the most suitable goods with greater confidence.

In conclusion, there are various negative consequences of commercial advertising and appropriate measures should be taken to tackle these problems.