Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think

consumers are influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

In recent years, people have often felt inundated with marketing propaganda in numerous forms. Personally, I believe that advertisements have a profound impact on the public and that it requires the involvement of authorities and the media to protect consumers from such negative influences.

Admittedly, being the target audience, shoppers are directly affected by advertising campaigns. Firstly, buyers frequently find themselves purchasing tawdry goods, deceived by their portrayal in commercials. In order to outcompete rivals and create brand awareness, companies tend to exaggerate the true quality of their products. As a result, unwary consumers who are swayed by glamorous advertisements could end up impulsively buying items that later disappoint them. Secondly, regardless of their form, advertisements might encourage people to adopt harmful habits. Adolescents, for example, may spend too much time on video games if over-exposed to commercials promoting those products and celebrity endorsement.

Therefore, strict measures should be taken to defend buyers from the adverse effects of commercials. It is most crucial for consumer protection agencies to be established and regulations to be imposed on the advertising industry by governments. Under stringent control, companies would be more responsible and truthful in publicizing their products, whether through telemarketing, online advertising or commercial advertising on prime time television. The mass media plays an indispensable part in reducing the negative influence of commercials on the public. If dominant social media platforms such as Facebook or Youtube as well as reputable newspapers or magazines show advertisements selectively, consumers could choose the most suitable and reliable goods with greater trust and confidence.

In conclusion, I would argue that the damaging effects commercials have on buyers are self - evident and that people can only be shielded from such harms with interference from governments and social media.