currently more and more people respect elders and become convinced that older people should live with their families, which is in contrast to the view that older people should live at a nursing homes. What is your opinion?

The swelling of the aged population is an inescapable trend in many countries. The question as to whether nursing home suits the elderly people for the rest of their life better than their own homes. From my perspective, it is a decision that varies according to personal needs and circumstances.

It is true that with the non-stop development of medical advances, healthier lifestyles and anti-aging technologies, many older people are able to stay active in their old age. Many retired people desire to contribute more on society and maintain their independence, so condemning them in nursing home can make them feel excluded. Another noteworthy to note is that senior people have greatly influential on family members. In fact, without careful guidance of old people, little do young generations know how to appreciate the traditional values and promote national identity. Because of this, there are increasing number of youngsters assimilating into other cultures worldwide and being lured into social evils such as prostitution and drug. Hence, the retirement home proves not to be a perfect option.

However, it is irrefutable that nursing house is capable of meeting their elders’ needs. With top-notch medical staff and equipment available, these institutions offer the professional care service to old people, helping them averting from normal diseases and treating illness. Another preference for nursing home is that they can find enjoyment by socializing with peers of the same age sharing the similar interests. For many cases, nursing home functions well to help those who do not have the company of their families or are abandoned by their children as an economic burden.

In conclusion, many elderly people are able to remain healthy and active, they should be given chances to be involved in all sorts of activities they adore. However, those who are prone to loneliness or illness, should take nursing home into account.