Currently more and more people respects elders and become convinced that old people should live with their families, which is in contrast to the view old people should live at a nursing home. What is your opinion?

A rise in the number of the elderly in recent years may lead to aging population. However, whether they should spend their twilight life with their families or at the nursing home is a controversial issue. In my opinion, I strong believe that home is the ideal accommodation in the end of their life.

On the one hand, there are two significant benefits that all members in a family should live harmony together. Firstly, individuals in working age population nowadays are so occupied their time with heavy workload that they do not have enough time to take care of their house chore and children. By means of living with senior, grandparents can help them to look after grandchildrens as well as tidying the house and going to the supermarket. Secondly, the experience and the wisdom of the previous generation is the treasure for young people to counsel. As a result, youths may withdraw the valuable lessons to keep them from entangling same mistakes.

On the other hand, giving the aged to the nursing home may be due to some reasons. If middle-aged people’ health is pretty bad and their children do not have the time to look after them, then they would have to find a nursing home to look after them. This means that sanitorium relaxed the pressure burden for young generation to focus on pursuing their career ladder. Moreover, in the nursing homes, the retired people have chance to meet and make friends with other people at the same age. For instance, they can chat in many hours about the past they had experienced and share hobbies such as playing chess or playing tachi to enjoy their old age.

In conclusion, to approach old age, the elderly people can live harmony with their grandchildrens or go to the retirement homes. But it seems to me that the adults have to assume responsibility to respect and look after the senior by living with them.