Cycling has many benefits , yet in some countries there is a decrease in number of people using bicycles as their main form of transport. Why is it happening ? give suggestions how to encourage people to use bicycles again.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Write at least 250 words.

It is undeniable that cycling has many positive impacts. However, there is a decline in some nations of using bicycles as the main mode of transport. Nevertheless, there are reasons related to such trend and ways to encourage bicycle usage.

To begin with, one reason why people to show tend to show less interest in bicycle use is the cheaper prices of other transport mode, private cars in particular. In Botswana for instance, the prices of private cars are very low due to massive competition among car dealers. Even more, the tax involved in importing private cars is very reasonable. Following such costs, citizens do not find a reason to resorting to bicycles as transport modes as majority could afford to buy a car.

Furthermore, the design of roads in some countries are not suited for cyclists. Most have been designed for motorists thus making it risky for cyclists to use such roads. For example, most town roads in South Africa are for speeding cars, hence cyclists are at risk of being knocked down by cars. This culminates in most people not finding a need to buy bicycles as roads are unaccommodative for cyclists.

Additionally, some cultures prohibits females to ride bicycles. The Setswana culture to be precise. This is so because they believe bicycles might cause a girl child to lose her virginity. Consequently, females resort to obey cultural norms and values, thus reducing the number of people using bicycle as a mode of transport.

However, some ways to encourage people to use bicycle again could be devised. Firstly, government could increase private car tax. This will lead to most people not affording private cars hence resorting to alternative means. Moreover, communities could form cycling clubs in order to increase awareness as well as encouraging people in such societies to use bicycles.

In conclusion, bicycle use is in decline due to some reasons, however there are ways to encourage bicycle use again.