Cycling is healthier and environmentally friendly form of transport. Nevertheless, cycling is getting less popular. What are the reasons of this trend? What can be done to make cycling more popular?

A decline in popularity of travelling by bicycle has been witnessed for decades. Two reasons stand out as responsible for this problem, which can be tackled by the following feasible solutions.

To begin with, the fall of cycling trend may be explained by two major contributing factors. Firstly, there has been a consensus that compared to other types of transportation, cycling is one of the most physically demanding activities, requiring users to channel an excessive load of strength into their movement. As a consequence, this deters citizens, especially ones with health problems like cardiovascular diseases, or osteoporosis, from travelling by bicycle. Secondly, its far lower speed also another weakness of cycling. Indeed, as residents are always willing to speed up their journey time, they tend to prioritize options which can provide a rapid and convenient transport services rather than bicycle.

However, many possible measures can be proposed to resolve the above situation. Specifically, events that require participants to cycling over a short distance are highly recommended. Indeed, not only do they help residents build up their strength and but also enhance public awareness of health benefits brought about by cycling. In addition, the government also needs to put its weight behind this mission by adopting policies to encourage uses of bicycle. Particularly, measures such as creating dedicated cycling lanes have been proved to reduce commuting time for cyclist, the advantages of which cannot be reaped when people utilize other means of transport. Hence, this upgraded efficiency is expected to act as a catalyst for a rise in number of cyclists.

Briefly, only by efforts of both citizens and the authority will the falling prevalence of cycling be improved.