Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? And how to increase its popularity?

Nowadays, although traveling by bicycle is friendly with the environment than other forms of transport, it is still not popular in many areas. This problem is caused by some factors, and it should be dealt with by some effective solutions.

There are some reasons why many people choose modern vehicles instead of traveling by bicycle. Firstly, since modern life is getting much busier than in the past, individuals tend to spend as little time on transport as possible. Therefore, they prefer to use other types of vehicles such as cars or motorbikes which would take less time. Secondly, as traffic jams and air pollution is a common problem in many countries, people who chose bicycles as the main transportation might be late for work or face health problems.

Feasible solution should be produced to tackle these aforementioned problems in transportation. Firstly, the government should enact laws about the environment which restricts modern vehicles in the city. For example, to create a green environment, motorbikes will be banned in 2020 in Hanoi and replaced by public vehicles such as buses or metros. Additionally, more lanes

should be built to serve only cyclists, which would make it much faster to travel with bicycles. Therefore, the number of people who travel by bicycle might be increased.

In conclusion, there are some reasons why people less choose bicycles than other types of transports and some measures could be taken to solve this problem.