In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

In the modern days, many developed countries are facing an increase in the proportion of people aged 60 or over which leads to various adverse impacts on society. This essay will figure out several hurdles and implement the solution for this problem.

To begin with, the more elderly a country has, the more money the government has to spend on the hospitals and healthcare systems. As a result of getting older, the elderly suffer a variety of chronic diseases, namely diabetes and high blood pressure. Another issue is that the young adults will have to look after their old relatives. Both troubles will put pressure on national budgets and the working population.

In order to tackle the problems, the government should increase the retirement age. This would help reduce the money that they have to spend due to the growing demand for pensions of senior citizens and increase the workforce. The second measure recommended is to have some programmes for the older people on how to save their money for their retirement. Accordingly, they will not have to rely too much on their pensions and can take care of themselves better.

To sum up, these several recommendations will help reduce the bad impacts aging populations have on society.