Discussion the reason why people define happiness differently and how to obtain happiness.

In recent years, there have been numerous attempts to define and measure happiness in various contexts and pertaining to a wide range of disciplines. Studies show that each person will define their happiness in different ways. There are a number of reasons behind this point of view and how to people satisfy themselves.

The majority of convincing reasons associated with this phenomenon. Young and old people are actually experiencing completely different emotions when they say they are happy, so generations feel happiness in different ways which is the most significant reason. In other words, young people generally more interested in the future and they are more likely to associate happiness with excitement. Contrarily, older people place a higher value on the present, so contentment tends to be a greater source of happiness and they become more likely to associate happiness with peacefulness.

It is undeniable that it seems almost impossible to give a precise definition of happiness. Most people would agree that there are some basic preconditions to achieving it. However, in some people’s opinion, happiness is not an individual but a collective state, it depends on positive, mutually fulfilling, mutually complementing human relationships. Thus, we cannot obtain happiness for ourselves directly, we can only give it to one another. Notwithstanding, in order to obtain happiness, we need a unique, mutually supportive environment where people commit to try providing each other with happiness.

In conclusion, age differences are the most important factor in explaining why people have different definitions of happiness. Moreover, happiness sometimes cannot be achieved on its own, it has to be the exchange between people and people.