Do you think how important it is for people to want success in life ? Is ambition a positive or negative characteristic?

We are living in a competitive world where success is desired by the majority of people. From my own perspective, it is undoubtedly necessary and important for people to have this kind of desire. Ambition, however, although brings potential dangers, is the driving force in fulfilling the desire.

The longing for success is the basis to achieve success. I believe that people who have made and who is going to made contributions to human society all have a strong desire for success -- strong enough to support them to get over difficulties and barriers on the way to success. Therefore, it is pivotal for people to have a strong desire to succeed, or to conquer, namely ambition.

Ambition is the driving force in the fulfillment of success, though being potentially hazardous. Admittedly, some people, driven by great ambition, try to succeed by hook or by crook. For example, students cheat in the exams only out of the ambition to get a higher score or to be praised by teachers. This is a disgrace for human beings. However, these people are usually the minority. The majority are motivated by ambitions to work hard and learn more skills to enhance their own capabilities or make themselves more competitive. It is the whole society in the end will benefit from it, for that all ambitious people are sparing no effort to make greater contributions in their own fields.

By way of conclusion, while ambition might bring disadvantages to humans, it is of vital importance and necessity for people to have ambition in this competitive world. Anyway, we can not image a world without competition and ambition.