Do you think it is better to send criminals to prison or let them receive education or job trainings?

Social maladies have been vigorously spreading its prevalence throughout our society for ages. Prison is deemed as the best retribution for those committing crimes. While imprisonment can act as a deterrent to crack down illegal activities, I still hold a strong belief that it should be coordinated with other alternatives.

On the one hand, it is argued by some people that custodial sentences are still indispensable, given its exorbitance. Those who either perpetrate serious crimes or recidivously present as a hazard should be sentenced into prison. Imprisonment, however, sometimes exert a crippling effect on arrestees. Indeed, the fact that people committing petty crimes together with those severely violating the law are isolated from society and put in a same place may result in normalizing criminal’s behaviors, adversely impacting their physical and mental health.

Yet, those opposing to such a view would contend that education and job trainings play a pivotal role in answering a puzzling question of how to bring down society’s crime rate. It is undeniable that providing education helps to raise offenders’ awareness, perception as well as their self-esteem, which prevents them from breaking the law. For example, those suffering poverty, illiteracy or material deprivation are likely to involve into illegal activities. In addition, vocational trainings offer to ensure their job security after being released. Actually, ex-prisoners frequently have to grapple with being jobless; thus, render them difficult to re-integrate into society and easy to fall back into a cycle of offending.

In conclusion, given both sides of each approaches, I am still an advocate of the idea that the not only imprisonment but also other punitive measures should be considered and appreciated.