Dome people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

It is commonly argued [avoid direct copy]that gaming is a safe form of entertainment , or even helpful in learning while others claim that electronic games have a detrimental impact on their players. In my opinion, I believe that the merits of gaming outweigh the drawbacks.

The main benefit of playing video games is that they maintain peoples interest and boost their mood [ The reason is that these games are designed to constantly give scores, new challenges, and rewards, which give them pleasurable feelings. Similarly, when playing online games, individuals never get bored since they are transported to different realities beyond their imagination.

An additional advantage is computer games could educate people about social skills. More specifically, to overcome a game challenge requires people to extensively develop communication, coordination, as well as leadership with others to devise the optimal strategies. These skills could be relevant when interacting with other people in real life and forging relationships.

However, electronic games might harm mental health. This is because when users, especially young ones who have not fully developed cognitively, are frequently exposed to their violent or bloody graphics, they tend to be frightened of, and obsessed with, such terrifying content for a long time. To illustrate, after playing a ghost-themed online game, my ten-year-old nephew could not sleep for weeks as he was constantly having nightmares about paranormal activities. Consequently, his mother had to take him to see a child psychologist.

In conclusion, I am convinced that the benefits of playing electronic games surpass the drawbacks. This is because the merits of entertainment and teaching about social skills outweigh the negative effect on mental health. Furthermore, this harmful impact can be mitigated through stricter parental supervision and better game content selection.