Earlier technological developments brought more benefits and changed the lives of ordinary people more than recent developments ever will. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is being argued that technological advancements in the past provided more merits to the general public and revolutionized their life in a way that recent progressions will not. I completely disagree with such argument in as much as recent developments shift not only people’s daily life, but also their working life in a much greater and positive way.

Technological developments in the 20th are closely connected with machinery innovation, which facilitate people’s life by taking up some household chores. For example, due to inventions of microwaves and dishwashers, people spent less time on family chores and lead an easier life. However, such improvement are not compatiable with today’s innovation, which goes further and brings such convenient lifestyle to the next level. For example, with the development of artificial intelligence, robots are introduced to do cleaning and even cooking all by themselves, which only requires a touch of the button and no hustles on people’s end at all. As a result, individuals are allowed to fully utilize their time to quench their thirst for knowledge and interests, leading to a more fulfilled life.

On top of daily issues, people’s working life are also changed because of the internet innovation. In the past, working adults’ family commitments are sacrificed to commute between home and workplace. However, nowadays thanks to the widespread access to the internet, meetings can be hold as video conferences and virtual offices are replacing physical ones, making it possible for working professionals to work from home and reach a work and life balance. A survey conducted by Queen’s university in 2019 revealed that having been given the freedom of choosing workplace, employees tend to enjoy a higher level of happiness.

To conclude, despite earlier technological progressions facilitated people’s life to some extent, I believe it is recent developments that bring more advantages and greatly changed people’s life.