Education is very important. How can children who are disinterested in study be motivated?

The value of education cannot be underestimated. Unfortunately, not all children are enthusiastic about the process of learning. In this essay I am going to suggest some ways of motivating them.

Leonardo da Vinci said: ”Learning never exhausts the mind”. We must admit that in modern society it is impossible to succeed without fundamental knowledge. There are exceptions like Bill Gates who made an unbelievable career having dropped out of Harvard and getting his university degree three decades after.

The main reason of resistance among children is they are too young and immature to comprehend all the benefits connected with a decent education. Hence it is their parents’ responsibility to explain its importance to them and even make them, if necessary. It would be a good idea to establish a golden rule in every family:” Homework first, all the rest activities – after”.

I am a teacher by profession, but I have to admit it was not as complicated to teach other offsprings than my own. They would be constantly distracted and used unthinkable opportunities to avoid our lessons. As for me, I knew exactly what they strove to do and tried to use it. For example, my son was extremely excited about computer games. Consequently, I did not allow him to play without previous studying. Extra pocket money could become another way of encouraging. For instance, 50 read and retold pages could give a child extra $5. The correlation is clear: the more he reads, the more money he gets. Some educators might argue that official pedagogy science does not recognize such methods, but the main idea is that it does work. I am firmly convinced every parent knows his child’s strengths and weaknesses and will be able to find the most suitable methods. The main thing is not to give up and teach children discipline of learning. It takes time and persistence, but it is worth doing. Who knows, maybe during your lifetime you will hear precious words of gratitude. As for me, I have already heard such words, which makes me proud.

Overall, children do need to be motivated to study. If their parents neglect this duty, their children’s career is not going to be as prominent as it could be.