Every country has poor people and every country has different ways of dealing with the poor.

What are some of the reasons for world poverty? How can the poor be helped?

Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today’s time, more and more people are having high disposable income for luxury items. But in every country, there are people who struggle to support their day to day living and this applies not only to developing or under developed nation but also to developed countries around the world.

There are number of reasons for poverty and it varies from country to country. But generally, the main reason for poverty in under developed and developing countries is over population which in turn creates unemployment. Because of high number of unemployed people in family, the income of that family is not sufficient for day to day living and this gives rise to poverty. To tackle the issue of over population, Government should take firm steps to control population, create awareness about family planning, and create more employment opportunities.

The other reason for poverty is that there are no guidelines about minimum wage in many countries around the world and this leads to people earning very less in comparision to expenses that they incur to support their basic day to day needs. The solution to this problem is firm implementation of minimum wage concept across the world. Also Government should pay allowances to unemployed. The major reason of poverty in developed countries is inflation and high standard of living. In this case, Government should curb the inflation and bring down the cost of living so that a person with low earning can also support his/her family.

To conclude, I think Governments across the world should play a more active role in the society to bring a change and to eliminate poverty.