Everyone should be vegeterians because they do not need to eat meat to have a healthy diet. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, switching to consuming vegetarian foods in community has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although this tendency appears plausible to some extent, people should not completely neglect animal-based foods.

There are a variety of compelling reasons why people should become vegetarians. First, since there are a number of kinds of meat-deficient foods such as peas and fruits provide sufficient nutrients and vitamins for people, they do not need to consume meat anymore. For example, beans and potatoes are the most two favoured dishes which are rich in vitamins and calories by people in England, making consumers not be much reliant on meat products. Second, if more people switch to eating meatless products, fewer animals will be slaughtered. In fact, millions of domestic animals such as chickens, cows, and pigs have been killed annually to meet the demands of citizens about food, which implies that becoming vegetarians is not only moral but also humane.

Nonetheless, it is widely believed that such trend is not appropriate for everyone. One of the reasons is that in order to have comprehensive development in mentality and physique, children are suggested to consume meat often. In other words, meat contains nutrients that help children develop bones and muscles, which is of great contribution to kids’ growing process. Furthermore, athletes are the ones consuming meat-based products more than anyone. In fact, as sport takers have to undergo intensive trainings and competitions, proteins in meat such as pork or beef help them strengthen muscles and recover injuries more quickly than any vitamins in fruits or vegetables do.

In conclusion, although advocates of the trend that people should become vegetarians is beneficial may indicate some merits, it is not advisable for a majority of people as a whole. By choosing the fresh ingredients of either meat or vegetarian foods, consumers will make the best decision for improving their health.