A few languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the use of others is rapidly declining. Is it a positive or negative development?

In the era of globalization, some languages become dominant across the globe while others are undermined. From my personal perspective, this issue brings both negative and positive influence on an equal measure.

Looking at the bright side, the increasing usage of a few languages offers certain merits for global citizens and the development of the world. One major benefit contributing to this is the eradication of language barriers, which may bring the ease of communication between parties in a conversation as a consequence. Not only does the use of common languages facilitate economic growth such as international trade and export activities, but it also provides unlimited access for higher education and enhances social integration among different communities. For example, thanks to English - the global language, people from several regions can communicate and make friends from any foreign countries in an effortless way.

However, it is likely to have negative impacts since the rapid development of few languages can result in the potential extinction of others. Once a language is at risk of death, there can be no doubt that its associated culture and history would disappear, which will cause a loss of spiritual legacy for the latest generation. Because of that, those people can easily forget their ancestry and origin and the world will also experience the shrinkage of regional languages and cultural diversity at the same time. Therefore, if many minority languages were eliminated, human identity in terms of cultural differences would be threatened seriously and replaced by a characterless world.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that despite the benefits gained from the spread of few common languages during the era of globalization, this trend tends to negatively affect other languages because of the narrowing culture and history.