Fewer and fewer people walk on a daily basis. What are the reasons and how to encourage them to spend their time walking?

In contemporary society, walking is becoming less popular among individuals. This problems is caused by some factors, and it should be dealt with by some effective solutions.

There are some reasons why people now reluctant to have a walk regularly. The first reason is the lacking in facilities for pedestrians. Grounds are used to build roads and skyscrapers so there are not enough pavements and sidewalks for walking purpose. Furthermore, take my country as an example, walkers are having a hard time because the majority of pavements are being illegally arrogated for commercial purposes, which means people have to use cars or motorbikes instead. The second reason is that people are more and more busy than before so they don't have time for regular walking. Today, people have to spend many hours at work and for commuting, therefore, they have to save time by using other types of transportation such as cars or buses. Additionally, many public places are now covered with technological applications like electric lifts or escalators so people choosing them over traditional stairs due to theirs convenience.

In order to raise people's interests in walking, there are some workable solutions can be adapted. Firstly, governments should attract more people to having a walk on a daily basis. By running advertising campaigns to promote the benefits of walking, governments can draw people's attention and more people will choose to walk regularly. For example, my country's government starts an annual walking festival in every March and this year recorded for almost 10,000 participants. Secondly, taxes should be spent on building more sidewalks and parks. For example, a park in the city centre and near office buildings can be a great place for citizens and office workers to have a walk daily.

In conclusion, I believe that the mentioned measures can certainly encourage people to walk on a daily basis.