Food can be produced cheaper if we use impreved fertilizers and better machinery. However, some methods are dangerous for humans health, and have negative effects for local communities. Your opinion?

Nowadays, with the help of advanced technology, scientists have discovered numerous methodologies that are widely applied in the food production. Some methods are effective while others put humans health in danger. In my opinion, I agree that modern machinery brings more benefits than disadvantages.

On the one hand, by using upgraded fertilizers and machines, the cost of food production can be reduced significantly. In agriculture, high-quality fertilizers enable farmers to harvest better yields while poor-quality crops require additional money for the improvement of spoiled seeds and plants. In addition, the food production will be economical when using developed machines. Backward machines can be broken and out of order anytime, which means extra expenditure should be spent to ameliorate them. Another problem occurs in manufacturing is that the whole process must be delayed due to the shortage of machines in the production chain. As a result, more employees are hired to meet the deadlines and factories have to spend more money on staffs.

On the other hand, dangerous methodologies can be harmful to people’s heath and have an adverse impact on the local communities. Not many farmers have the thorough knowledge about the systems they utilize, as a result, they do not know how to protect themselves from any dangers that may occur. Many fertilizers give off poisonous stream of air, which can eventually cause lung cancer, however, farmers usually ignore this. Using electric equipment in fishing is another effective method, yet fatal. This practice not only causes extreme risk for the farmers but also affects the environment. Local citizens who are exposed to the smoke released into the air by factories nearby are also badly affected.

In conclusion, I agree that the cost of food production can be reduced by using improved fertilizers and machinery. Although there are some negatives, if the farmers and workers can make the best use of them, the benefits they offer outweigh the drawbacks.