Forests are the lungs of the earth. Destruction of the world's forests amounts to death of the world we currently know.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Just as the lungs purify blood, forests cleanse and oxygenate the air without which life would be non-existent. Due to its unparalleled role in maintaining life on earth, I am in consummate agreement that deforestation will eventually threaten our own survival.

The most significant role is a plants' ability to photosynthesize; the elimination of carbon dioxide from the air by absorbing it and and releasing oxygen. This air borne oxygen is the chemical that enables respiration to occur in all living cells and thus organisms of all shapes and size are able to flourish on earth . Deforestation not only adversely affects oxygen levels but also disrupts the delicate atmospheric oxygen-carbon dioxide ratio, leading to global warming. A 2014 report revealed that cutting down 2.4% of the earths' forest coverage led to a 10% increment in carbon dioxide concentrations worldwide. This imbalance exacerbates the effects of the worldwide temperature rise, resulting in droughts, flooding and eventually human casualties.

In addition, rain forests such as the Amazon, house a variety of animal and plant species, some of which are found nowhere else on earth. Both these organisms and trees are utilized to extract serums that are essential ingredients in numerous pharmaceutical drugs such as Penicillin, Ventol and Panadol. Habitat destruction will lead to a diminished diversity as well as a lack of raw materials to develop life-saving medicinal produce.

In conclusion, trees play a crucial role in maintaining the earths' ecosystem. However if immediate forest conservation schemes are not implemented, earth will gradually become an inhospitable planet.