The government and individuals are spending too much money on national celebrations like new year or festivals Do you agree or disagree

People have different views about the celebrations of national holidays. While many people believe that they are money wastage, I would argue that the benefits of traditional holidays outweigh its drawbacks.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some people hold opposition against it. Firstly, long-lasting holidays can have some detrimental effects to the economy. As many holidays could lasted around one or two weeks, that means many businesses and workers also stop functioning results in a loss of a considerable amount of money. For instance, Vietnamese traditional Tet festival is a two weeks holiday where almost every companies shut down for celebration. Secondly, a significant amount of money is wasted to celebrate holidays. A great amount of money is being expended by governments and people for holidays preparation, which usually lasts for a short period of time. For example, many Vietnamese families purchase a kumquat tree of a cherry blossom during Tet, and they are probably going to dump it after 2 or 3 weeks.

On the other hand, I believe we should keep celebrating national holidays for some reasons. The first reason is that celebrate traditional holidays is a way to preserve cultural identity. By doing traditions and customs of their own culture, old individuals can pass the cultural heritage of their people to younger generation. These practices play a crucial role in cultural loss prevention. Additionally, traditional holidays have positive influences on tourism industry. Big holidays or festivals are great ways to enhance countries' image as well as attracting tourists. For example, just like any famous tourist attractions, many people visit China every year to take part in Chinese New Year, hence brings great benefits to local residents.

In conclusion, while I agree that there are some drawbacks of celebrate holidays, I believe we should keeping these practices due to its benefits.