Government should focus spending only on public services, not waste on the arts. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Government funding for arts is a disputable issue. Some people contend that the government should only sponsorship the public services, instead of arts. In my view, arts deserve government funds as public services.

To start with, it is understandable that government expenditures should be diverted to the public services, rather than arts. Since public services, such as water and electricity supply, hospitals, libraries and schools, have direct impacts on people’s life. For example, individuals cannot live without water; hospitals and schools are the essential components of citizen’s well-being. Compared to public services, arts, seemingly, are dispensable to individual’s life, since they do not have tangible values and contributions to people’ life. Moreover, it is commonly accepted that arts, as the luxury commodities, belong to wealthy people, not average citizens. Compared to the small number of affluent people, the number of ordinary people is massive in the society. The opponents of funding arts, therefore, can reasonably deprive the financial supports on arts.

However, arts deserve government’s sponsorship equally as public services. Firstly, arts are the cultural legacy of a city or a country, which reflect the cultural diversity and history of different areas. Some arts are even regarded as the national treasure, such as Chinese ink and water. As a result, arts should deserve government’s funding in order to inherit the culture and let descendants understand their own culture and history. In addition, arts have the intangible benefits to people’s life. For example, arts can enrich people’s spiritual life, especially when people’s basic living requirements can be met by public services, and beautify the city’s landscapes.

In conclusion, arts, as a medium of cultural continuity and a way to improve individual’s life conditions, should receive the equivalent government’s spending as public services.