Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

TO what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, budgeting is one of the fundamental decisions should be taken by the governments. While some people have this conviction that more money should be allocated on constructing the railways, other believes that building the roads would be more reasonable. I will elaborate in this essay why I am a strong advocate of the first group.

First and foremost, railways have emitted less toxic gasses into the atmosphere. Undoubtedly, environmental aspect has been considered as a critical factor in decision making, particularly in large scales such as national. According to a conducted research at Harvard University, transportation industry in England produces one-fifth of total released CO2 and trains had the less contributor amongst all the facilities with only 1.4%. In addition, trains are most affordable vehicle for the citizens. The more the price will be reasonable, the more people can use it, therefore, governments should invest on the areas which have more users. In my country, if someone wants to travel by train, he should book the ticket at least 3 months in advance, if not the trip has to be postponed to another time.

To support the second viewpoint, driving on the roads are very convenient and enjoyable. Needless to say that utilizing the private car brings a lot of beneficial which should be not underestimated. People can choose the time which is suitable for themselves, stop or drive wherever they wish, and even they can bring whatever they want without any limitation.

On the basis of the points mentioned above although spending money on the road can have some advantages for the residents, it would be more rational that governments assign more budget on building a good infrastructure for the railways.