Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Transportation is the veins of any country, sophisticated transportation facilities and road systems are the symbols of a country's economic development and wealth. Some people argue that the authorities should spend their money on railways rather than roads, i completely disagree with this statement.

Firstly, constructing a large network of railway lines cost billion of dollars to any government, with that same amount they can build almost thrice length of road network system. Furthermore, geographical factors does not affect when building roads, while it is very difficult to construct a rail road in areas like hilly parts of the nation. Moreover, logistics is an another important factor, rail transportation is only ideal when people want to move huge quantity of items to a long distance. For shorter distances and small payloads people often rely on roads.

Secondly, climatic factors also affect smooth running of trains. There are areas which are under heavy snow or rain around the year, in such bad weather conditions train movements often get more disturbed than vehicle traffic on the roads. In addition maintenance of railway tracks and trains will be a huge financial burden for the people who ever own it, whether it's owned by public or private. Whereas, roads once constructed using modern techniques often last for a fair amount of time without any serious maintenance works. On top of that governments can actually raise money from well constructed roads in the form of tolls and traffic penalties.

To recapitulate, it is evident that governments should spend their money on roads rather than railways, because it has lot of advantages than rail networks both in economic and social terms.