Happiness if often considered difficult to define. Why is this? What factors determine happiness?

Many people think that happiness is very hard to explain. This is because people have different thoughts, and I believe that there are many elements that determine happiness.

There are various reasons why the definition of satisfaction is considered challenging, but I reckon it derives from the differences in people’s thinking. Some people regard leading a material life as a top priority that can make them delighted. For others, however, health and family are of greater importance. Another explanation for the discrepancy in people’s joy of life is due to their living conditions. For example, in the rural parts of Africa, inhabitants feel happy simply when they can afford the whole family’s fundamental demands such as food and clothes, so that they will not have to live in poverty. By contrast, those who live in big cities and the rich can only feel their life in the journeys around the world or the fashionable clothing they wear. Some others who live far away from their relationships content themselves when they and their beloved gather together on some special occasions such as national holidays or valentines.

In my opinion, there are several important factors that determine happiness. However, the most important ones are money, friends, and health conditions. Firstly, possessions are an extremely essential contributor to people’s contentment because without money we cannot do anything, like paying for the bills. Korean people usually say “Home is a happy place”, but unless you have enough money, you cannot enjoy your “happy place”. Secondly, social relationships are a significant factor of pleasure. When you share the joy with your friends, it doubles. Lastly, health also plays a part in people’s happiness. Only when we have good health condition can we enjoy our life. For instance, we cannot live a normal life or suffer from pains the whole life if we expose to joint-related diseases.

In conclusion, because of different mindsets, people define happiness in many ways. However, I think financial condition, socialization, and physical condition play the key role in life satisfaction.