The high sales of popular goods reflect the power of advertising but not the real need of the society where such products are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertising, as a newly-appeared creative industry, has become the marketing tool to boost sales for many manufacturers. Consequently, some people argue that the high sales of popular goods nowadays attribute to the success of their advertisements, but hardly reflect real social demands. I believe that although people sometimes make purchasing decisions for their real needs, they are largely influenced by adverts.

The first point to make is that unjust information of the products is presented in various advertisements in a persuasive but misleading way today. This means that, unconsciously, people are inculcated with the exaggerated advantages of the products promoted by means from TV commercials to simple flyers - fewer people can resist this. It is a serious warning that the medicine adverts targeted at the old which emphasize exaggerated effects of the medicines have misled many old people and gained high sales.

Another reason may be based on idol effect, through which advertisements can manipulate the consumers behaviour more easily. It is undoubted true that nowadays a lot of manufacturers invest a great deal of money to invite popular stars to endorse their products, simple because idols boost sales - the audience will buy the products for their idol even if they are not in fact necessary.

However, that is not to say that the high sales of goods reflect no real needs of the consumers. Admittedly, more people are gradually becoming wiser buyer able to distinguish goods in need from products which are a waste of money. Nevertheless, I still believe that blind and impulsive buyers are the majority.

In conclusion, because people are easily manipulated by adverts, the high sales of a popular product is more of a proof for its success in promotion strategy and advertisement design.