Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

It is often believed that hiking the price of petrol can help resolve the growing problem of traffic congestion and city woes emanating from ambient pollution. I completely disagree with this idea because it is not a viable solution that can help meet long-term needs of the expanding economies.

From my point of view, while it is not a sustainable solution to raise the price of a commodity that has inelastic demand, economists believe that no matter how hard a government tries to force people out of car by making petrol expensive, more people will buy these commodities because they need these items to fulfil their basic needs. What I mean by this is that, in a developing country, where government has no plans to introduce an efficient public transport means, citizens are left to provide for their own means of conveyance. This boils down to either two wheeler or four wheeler exerting unrelenting pressure on exisiting infrastructure and mounting demand for petrol.

So far as solutions are concerned, the government needs to introduce policies to electrify cars rather than think of an alternative ways of making fuel price astronomically high. Besides, it should give impetus to the introduction of efficient and dependable public transport modes which are environmentally friendly. Pollution will subside once cleaner energy sources are tapped for making vehicles operational.

To sum up, traffic snarls and dirty air will not escape the cities by hiking the price of petrol. It warrants focus on finding out an alternatve energy source that can put less strain on the road and on the environment.