Innovation is often driven by the pursuit of profit and economic growth. However, some argue that it should prioritize addressing social and environmental issues.

Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

People have sparked a heated controversy over the objective of technological breakthroughs. While ones highlight the importance of financial abundance, I believe that innovations should put an emphasis on social and ecological obstacles.

On the one hand, technological advancements are believed to mainly serve economic growth due to a number of reasons. To begin with, it is widely witnessed that the majority of innovations are currently yielded as a result of a massive investment from enterprises. Therefore, only when they bring about a financially adequate outcome can research be maintained; otherwise, it can be deemed as a squander of resources, and may lead to bankruptcy. In addition, even when innovations are fueled by public sectors, profit should also not be overlooked. Specifically, there are always scores of issues high on the agenda, so policy makers tend to allocate the limited resources to aspects whose benefits are tangible and measurable.

On the other hand, despite the significance of profit, it seems to me that social and environmental issues should be the principal drive for scientific explorations. Firstly, while economic growth merely ensures a materialistic fulfillment, societal and ecological stability are recognised to sustain a multifaceted wellbeing, as we see in positive effects of pollution alleviation on public health. Thus, any efforts to amplify abundance may be futile if the surrounding community and ecosystem become irreversibly inhabitable, since profit and money may fail to compensate for their damage. Secondly, it is also tackling social and environmental issues that enable innovations to create profits. For example, a recent study indicated that a reduced carbon footprint has been one of the criteria consumers take into account when they purchase a new vehicle, accompanied by a phenomenal growth of environmentally friendly products.

Briefly, although economic benefits play a remarkable role in the search for new technological solutions, I opine that their importance cannot overwhelm that of social and environmental significance.