International travel can make people prejudiced rather than broad minded. Why people fail to benefit when they travel? What we can do to improve their understanding of the countries they visit?

Travelling is regarded as the finest way to broaden people’s horizons by meeting people from all walks of life and experiencing diverse cultures. On the downside, international travel has also made tourists judge other cultures rather than open their mind. There are several reasons for this tendency and steps which could be done taken to deepen visitors’ knowledge of the country they want to set foot on.

The first and the main foremost reason for this outcome might be the gap in cultures. What is considered a specialty in one place may not hold any value for outcomers. For example, Vietnamese inhabitants have considered balut and blood pudding as their signature dishes for ages. However, in the eyes of foreigners, eating these kinds of food is a the behavior of a barbarian. To avoid culture shocks, tourists have to make full use of the Internet to search for information about their destination of interest. Tour guides also play a vital role in educating foreigners about the local values to make them respect rather than look down upon it.

Another reason causing the problem is stereotyping, which results mostly from bad experiences with street vendors. It’s an usual practice for them to sell defective products and prey on unsuspecting tourists without realizing that they are damaging the image of their locals. Consequently, this will create a negative impression on foreigners and shape their thinking about the hosts. To tackle this problem, authorities have to create and manage places where vendors can gather and sell their products commodities at fixed prices.

In conclusion, there are two leading factors that cloud tourists’ judgment on the places they visit. However, efforts in the right direction can help overcome the problem.