It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantage and disadvantages of this?

In this competitive world, students nowadays have the tendency to leave a gap between lower and higher studies. For many students, this leisure year gives an extended period of time for learning additional knowledge. However, there are both pros and cons to deciding to do this. In this essay, I will spark my views on some of the reasons why not joining the university after school is so famous and some of the challenges to be overcome.

Let's commence by looking at the advantage of discontinuity before joining the university. One of the main positives facets of leaving year off is that it strengthen our professional knowledge. What I mean by this is that we have the chance to do jobs and training related to our studies, which will help to prepare us for our life before joining the higher academic institute. For instance, one of my friends started to work in the company after completing his school life. One month ago, he was hired by the reputed organization after the completion of his higher studies.

Secondly, additional income could be earned which could be spent on our higher studies, if we do some jobs prior to joining for the campus. Obviously, this will release the economic burden to the family. For example, one of my brothers started teaching for one year after accomplishing his school life and he collected a certain amount for the university and his family does not have to support him economically.

Turning the other side of the argument, diminishing interest in studies became a major problem after one year as the enthusiasm towards studies after a certain break goes down. Due to this learner have the chance to perform badly in their university life, so he may not complete his higher education. Once my friend has not finished his bachelor's as he leaves one year off after his school life.

All things considered, joining jobs before embarking university life is challenging. We need to weigh up the pros of having additional skill related to certain jobs and collecting funds and so on, and the cons of diminishing joy towards studies. Personally, I believe the merits in terms of experience eventually outweigh any drawbacks.