It is becoming more and more difficult to escape the influence of the media on our lives Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living in a media rich society

Media nowadays plays an important role in every persons life. People depend on newspapers and channels to know what is going on around them. In the modern era broadcasting industry is more powerful than any other sectors, because it is directly connected to each and every mans daily routine despite gender, age , social status and wealth. There are some advantages and as well as disadvantages in being part of this media rich culture.

On the one hand, this media influence is some way beneficial to the society especially in democratic countries. Because it ensures transparency in the system. As we all know, many of the nation's system are corrupt to a certain level. It is the media who usually brings out this malpractices to the public and help to reduce such incidents. For instance, if we take the example of 3G spectrum scam that happened in India few years ago, it was one channels sting operation that shed light on this issue and triggered mass outrange in India. Furthermore, these TV's and newspapers are helpful in passing important information to the public in a quickest manner, Like warning about natural disasters or accidents as such.

On the other hand, the same media can act as a two side sword, when it comes to some controversial matters. These people can mislead the public and create panic among them easily. At present people believe almost everything floating in media, because there isn't any systems prevails to ensure the genuinity of the news. Moreover, majority of the media houses are biased they broadcast news according to their interest and preference. On top of that, these so called media people are misusing their power by invading the personal space of people. They are pointing their cameras to each and everything without considering a person's privacy.

To recapitulate, the extensive presence of media is helpful for the society to a some extent, but at the same time certain restrictions are required to control its misuse of accessibility. Otherwise these media should follow some ethics and code of conduct when they are reporting on something.