It is difficult for people living in the city to get enough physical exercise. Why is this the case? What can be done to solve the problem?

It has been witnessed that urban residents are currently facing an austerity of time for physical activities. Two major reasons stand out as responsible for this obstacle, which can be mitigated by several feasible solutions.

To begin with, a lack of exercise among city dwellers can be attributed to two main contributing factors. Regarding to labors, it is the pressure of making a living that deters people from physical activities. In fact, over the past few decades, white collars have had to deal with an increasingly heavy workload, which inevitably makes them stuck behind their desks and prioritize paper works over leisure activities, including taking up sports or work out at the gym. Regarding to children and pensioners, the reason stemming from lacking sporting infrastructures stays at the forefront. Specifically, playgrounds, parks and stadiums have been demolished to make way for urbanization in cities, and this is believed to restrain citizens from physical pastime because of their declining free access.

However, there are several measures that can be proposed to tackle the aforementioned challenge. Firstly, such policies as flexible working hours and job-share should be adopted. In particular, not only do they prevent employees from being snowed by paper works but also help them maintain a work-life balance, in which they will be provided with sufficient time for physical diversions. Secondly, the authority should also prioritize its expenditure on installing sporting equipments and offering free fitness lessons at public places. Indeed, if these services become ubiquitous in urban area, city residents are expected to find it easier to approach exercise options, which can result in a higher frequency of workouts.

In brief, only by efforts of both companies and the government will urban citizens take exercise on a more regular basis.